Our chapter of Beta Beta Beta (the national biology honor society) was chosen as the winner of the Lloyd M. Bertholf Award for its activities during the 2013-14 academic year. The Saint Mary’s chapter was selected for recognition out of more than 670 Beta Beta Beta chapters nationwide. The award gives national and local recognition to one chapter for program excellence, including member activity in research; participation in conventions and scientific meetings; and chapter programs and activities.

In April, biology students presented their research at the Iowa Academy of Science / Beta Beta Beta district convention, held at the University of Iowa. Shown are Aleah Bingham, Maddy Stiehl, Jaci Bongard, Amy Zawacki, Katie Stolz, Brandon Larsen, Mary Moats-Biechler, and Dan Carroll.